The End of Soma Cafe

Soma Cafe has been a staple in my life for the past 5+ years. What was so great…it had an atmosphere of health, fitness and freshness that I have not found elsewhere. The food was healthy (organic, etc), it offered free internet and it was a place I could go to think and create, and I have had many valuable sessions there. I would frequent Soma for any meal of the day, at least once or twice a week. Last week I was stopping by for a breakfast shake to find the doors locked and a note on the door.

The note said that they were shutting the doors and thanked us, their customers. Then they went into a story about how their investors where no longer willing to support them…due to the current market conditions AND a fear of higher taxes and capital gains with the new political changes.

Setting party aside (and I did vote for McCain), For me life is about choice and change…when taxes go up I wont run to mexico, I will find new creative ways to make the best of the situation. Lets embrace change, not run from it. While I am sure that there were more factors to Soma’s ending, it is amazing who gets blamed for it.

Here is to driving our life vs. being run over!

2 comments

  1. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Sarah

    http://www.thinkpadonline.info

Leave a Reply

